ROANE County, Tennessee

The American History & Genealogy Project


Roane County was formed in 1801 from Knox and named for Judge Archibald Roane.  Early settlers were Dr. Daniel Rather, Thomas C. Childress, William French, David Patton, Thomas Brown, quarter-master for the garrison at Southwest Point, General John Brown, owner of a large tract of land, including the site of the present Rockwood, and William Brown, who became a prominent lawyer at Knoxville.  The court of pleas and quarter sessions was organized in December, 1801, at the house of Hugh Beatty, at which time William White, Samuel Miller, Hugh Nelson, Paul Harlson, Zacheus Ayer, George Preston, William Campbell, James Preston, Isham Cox, William Barnett, George McPherson, and Abraham McClelland qualified as magistrates.  Early resident lawyers were John Purvis, admitted to practice in 1807, James McCampbell, in 1810, W. C. Dunlap and J. W. Brazeale in 1820, and J. Y. Smith and I. Hope in 1823.  Source: Will T. Hale and Dixon L. Merritt, A History of Tennessee and Tennesseans: the Leaders and Representative Men in Commerce, Industry, and Modern Activities, (Chicago, IL, Lewis Publishing Company, 1913), 819.

Copyright © 2018 by Donna Sims Conner.  All rights reserved. 

All content on this website is provided to you AS IS and without warranties of any kind, either express or implied. Every effort has been made to ensure that all information presented on this website is complete and accurate. However, the content may occasionally be inaccurate or incomplete and I make no representation that the content is reliable or error-free.

Cover image courtesy of My Genealogy Hound.