ROANE County, Tennessee

The American History & Genealogy Project


Bethel Presbyterian Church

Formation & Organization

On June 6, 1818, six men and twenty women organized Bethel Church.  The original records are still in existence.  The Rev. Isaac Anderson was present and ordained John Purris, Ruling Elder.  John Walker, Samuel Walker, Abraham McClellan were ordained as Elders.  The following were charter members: John Purris, John Walker, Samuel Walker, Abraham McClellan, Roger Barton, George Manifold, Mary Manifold, Mrs. Margaret Walker, Jane Walker, Susan Walker, Sarah Purris, Jane Looney, Jane McCamey, Worthey Bailey, Mrs. Margaret Barton, Ruth Pride, Margaret McCamey, Eliza McClellan, Eliza McCuen, Betsy Walker, Jane Brown, Mary Small, Ann Tucker, Jane Tucker, Fannie Tucker, Mrs. Stephenson, David Patton, John McEwan, Thos. N. Clark, Walter King, Wm. C. McCamey, Trustees.   Source: Emma Middleton Wells, The History of Roane County (Chattanooga, TN, Lookout Publishing Company, 1927), 46-47.


Copyright © 2018 by Donna Sims Conner.  All rights reserved. 

All content on this website is provided to you AS IS and without warranties of any kind, either express or implied. Every effort has been made to ensure that all information presented on this website is complete and accurate. However, the content may occasionally be inaccurate or incomplete and I make no representation that the content is reliable or error-free.

Cover image courtesy of My Genealogy Hound.